Whilst Facebook is not recommended for business transactions, and Facebook actively discourage this, the blurred lines between our social and business lives can overlap. Contacts may send questions or approaches to your inbox, colleagues might share prospects or mention important sources. And let’s not overlook the prospecting opportunities available based on the abundance of personal data that most people are happy to publish about themselves.
If you use your personal Facebook account for business networking, you may be running the risk of having your account disabled, and losing your connections.
How would you feel if your Facebook account was disabled? What would you do if you lost all your contacts, timeline posts, activity logs and message archives? Would your business suffer?
Why do accounts get deleted?
Whilst there is a lot of speculation on the exact reasons an individual account might get shut down, here are a few guidelines for how you run your personal account:
- Don’t use your business name instead of your personal name – When you sign up, Facebook makes it pretty clear that they don’t want you to use a business name in lieu of your personal name.
- Don’t spam your timeline or friends – Facebook is ‘social media’, and not built as a business platform. It’s downright anti-social to spam, regardless of whether you are in a business or social setting, and isn’t tolerated on business only networks. If you’re using Facebook for advertising messages, keep it social. Would you repeatedly stop conversation at a party to interject one of your random marketing messages?
- Start a Business Page for your business – These types of pages are designed for marketing messages and offer greater analytics about your activities and interactions. You can invite existing friends who you think might be interested in the page, and also search for new prospects. You still need your personal profile in order to invite them to like your page. Once they have ‘liked’ the page, your posts show up on their timeline.
How to Download a copy of your Facebook data and history
- Find your Account Settings in top right hand corner.
- Choose ‘Download a copy of your Facebook data’ at the bottom of the page
- Choose ‘Start My Archive’ – you’ll be promoted to enter your password again
- You’ll see a note saying that it might take a while…
- That’s it! You’ll see a pop up telling you that the archive will be sent to your primary FB email account when it is ready.